Flashback: 6 Years Ago Today

Thanks, Facebook, for reminding me that today is the anniversary of the first marathon I ever ran – the PF Chang’s Rock ‘N’ Roll Arizona – on January 17, 2010.

“I can’t imagine ever running a marathon”

My lovely bride still occasionally mentions those words that came out of my mouth sometime before I ran my first half marathon in Seattle in June 2009.  It was the inaugural Seattle Rock ‘N’ Roll Marathon & Half, and I was intimidated at the thought of having to run a half marathon twice – until the moment I was running down the chute toward the finish line, catching glimpse of my bride yelling and cheering me on.  It was intoxicating and exhilarating – a feeling that is difficult to describe to anyone that has not experienced it.  I had not even finished, and I was already making plans for 26.2 miles.

I was hooked.

I have logged nearly 7000 miles between the time I started training for Arizona and today’s anniversary.  Many marathoners I train with have run a lot more miles than that and trained a lot harder than I have at times. When I finished 26.2 miles in the desert, though, I knew I was going to do it.  Like I said…hooked.

Ten marathons later, having overcome a fairly personally significant gauntlet tossed down right before I ran #10 last October, I am taking a break from the long distance in 2016.  Some people can run that distance several times a year. I averaged twice a year for 5 years, but I want to keep doing it for a while and need a chance to recover!  And this fall, we will take a vacation somewhere that is not somehow connected to a marathon I am running! (This was a wildly popular decision)

Today, I am content to think back on that day and be pretty happy and proud of what that meant at that time in my life, especially after the fairly wild ride in the five years before that. Tomorrow, I will let myself start thinking again about the rest of this year and April 17, 2017 – Patriots Day in Boston and the 121st Boston Marathon.

I can’t imagine ever not running marathons…

5 Replies to “Flashback: 6 Years Ago Today”

    1. Thanks! Just after missing out on Boston 2016 (but in reality more than that…see a couple blog posts back), I ran the Twin Cities Marathon 9:50 under by required qualifying time. Won’t have any problem getting back for in 2017, my third trip to Boston. 🙂

      Like

      1. Thanks! I was well motivated! Wish I could be there with you and everyone else in 2016 and the 120th…but I can wait. 🙂 Plus, that means I can spend Easter Sunday at Old North Church like I did in 2014! Good luck to you and train well!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

